Blockley Church of England Primary School is situated in the picturesque village of Blockley in the North Cotswolds. It is situated at the northern edge of the village next to St George’s Hall.
As early as 1660 a school was recorded in Blockley. Much later in 1867 a Girls and Infants School was opened, the boys being educated in a separate building elsewhere in the village. These two schools merged and moved onto the present site in 1983. A new extension to the school was officially opened by The Princess Royal in March 1986.
A playing field adjoining the school was donated and first used in the summer of 1989. Due to increasing numbers of children more classroom accommodation was added in the summer of 1996 and in 1999 further refurbishment and development within the school resulted in the completion of an upper floor in part of the older Victorian wing. This provided a self-contained library and space for a computer suite.
In autumn 2000 further development of the accommodation was completed to provide another classroom, new toilet facilities and office space. Following this a new purpose built reception classroom was built with a self-contained outside space and has been in use since January 2008.
The loft space above Class 5 was developed in 2010 to provide an additional teaching space and a storage area.
To ensure long term stability for the school the Governors began to investigate converting the school to an academy. After considerable discussion the Governors led the school to become a stand-alone Academy. The school was incorporated on 7th March 2013 and the conversion to Academy Status happened on the 1st April 2013. The school opened after the Easter break in 2013 as Blockley Church of England Primary School, a company registered at Company House, trading under the name of Blockley Educational Academy.