Children, if you don’t feel safe call Childline 08001111 or click ‘online SOS’ for more information.


Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, maths and science. They must also teach relationships and sex education, and religious education.

As an academy, we have chosen to follow the national curriculum. 

The DfE states:

‘The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.’

Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.

Child’s age


Key stage


3 to 4


Early years


4 to 5


Early years

Assessment of pupils’ starting points in language, communication, literacy and maths and teacher assessments

5 to 6

Year 1


Phonics screening check

6 to 7

Year 2


National tests in English reading and maths (optional). Teacher assessments in maths, science, and English reading and writing

7 to 8

Year 3



8 to 9

Year 4


Multiplication tables check

9 to 10

Year 5



10 to 11

Year 6


National tests in English reading, maths, and grammar, punctuation and spelling. Teacher assessments in English writing and science

This system considers whether the children are; working towards or achieving the national standards and for some subjects working at a greater depth standard.

By the end of each summer term schools must write a report on your child’s progress and offer you opportunity for discussion.